Skip to content

Risk Areas Expanded

As of 21 March, the city of Jena will expand the risk areas defined by the Robert Koch Institute and declare the following regions to be COVID-19 risk areas: all states outside Germany as well as the federal states of Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia and Baden-Württemberg.

Commuters and visitors who have stayed in risk areas in the last 14 days are not allowed to enter Jena. (For exceptions see:

For residents of Jena who return from risk areas, the following applies immediately:

  • Immediate quarantine for 14 days
  • Obligation to report immediately on 03641-49 2222 or at
  • Information to be provided: name, address, telephone number, age, symptoms and the circumstances of the stay in the risk area.

This means in detail

All residents of Jena who have stayed in a risk area within the last 14 days are obliged to stay immediately and exclusively in their home or in parts of their residential property used exclusively by themselves for a period of 14 days after their return from the risk area. These persons are obliged to report to the specialist health service using the hotline 03641 / 49 22 22 or by e-mail to within seven days at the latest.

Please also report by e-mail to This will help us to keep an overview and to support you if necessary.

What are the sanctions in case of a violation?

The new regulation of the city of Jena for the extension of risk areas will be effective from 21 March 2020. Whoever violates it commits an administrative offence, which will be punished with a fine of up to €25,000. If the violation is intentional, it is a criminal offence punishable by imprisonment for up to five years or a fine.

Further information:

There we provide the latest information and answers to your questions around the clock. You can also contact us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram. Not all questions can be answered immediately. The university’s communication department will collect your questions and then add them to the FAQs.